Monday, May 15, 2006

802.11 Wi-Fi Standards

Are you confused by all the 802.11 standards, such as 802.11a, 802.11b, 802.11g, etc. Here is a brief breakdown of the different 802.11 standards; including: speed, frequency, and the date it was ratified as a standard:
  • 802.11: up to 2Mbps, uses the 2.4GHz frequency (1997)
  • 802.11b: up to 11Mbps, uses the 2.4GHz frequency (7/1999)
  • 802.11a: up to 54Mbps, uses the 5GHz frequency (7/1999)
  • 802.11g: up to 54Mbps, uses the 2.4GHz frequency (6/2003) [802.11b compatible]
  • 802.11n: up to 600Mbps+, uses the 2.4Ghz and 5GHz frequency (This standard has not been finalized) [has MIMO (Multiple-Input Multiple-Output), uses multiple transmitter and receiver antennas to allow for increased data throughput.]
  • 2.4GHz equipment can incur interference from microwave ovens, cordless phones, and other appliances using the same radio signaling frequency range.
  • The higher frequency 5GHz equipment signals has more difficulty penetrating walls and other obstructions.

No comments: