Thursday, March 22, 2007

Internet Explorer 7: Security Zones

Internet Explorer 7 allows you to adjust its security settings so that you can make the browser more or less secure. If you enforce more restrictive settings then the default configuration you can could break the functionality of certain web sites. Although, if you reduce the security settings you can make your browser less secure and vulnerable to attack.

By default, the security levels in Internet Explorer are okay for most types of browsing, they should not break most web site but it's possible that it can. There are four zones (Internet, Local intranet, Trusted sites, and Restricted sites), each zone has it own security level that you can assign to it. For example, the Internet zone has a security level of Medium-High, which prompts you for download and blocks unsigned ActiveX controls.

To adjust IE's security levels, follow the instruction below:
  • Launch Internet Explorer.
  • From the Tools menu select 'Internet Options'
  • Click the Security tab.
  • Select the zone you want to change.
  • Then adjust the security level by moving the slider up (for more restrictive) or down (for less restrictive) .
  • Press the OK button
If you have certain web site that you trust on the Internet, you can grant them access to the "Trusted sites" zone, which allows you give them more privileges.
  • Click on the 'Trusted sites' zone icon, and then press the Sites button.
  • Type the domain name (such as of the trusted site then press the Add button. (Note: You may need to uncheck the box the 'Require server verification (https:) for all sites in this zone' checkbox).
  • Press the OK button.

No comments: